Architecture Scope

The scope of the Regional ITS Architecture can be described in terms of: 1) the size of the region and jurisdictions covered (geographic scope), 2) the planning or time horizon, and 3) the variety of transportation services that are covered. This scope is defined in the context of adjacent and overlapping Regional ITS Architectures.


2015 Austin Regional ITS Architecture Update 

Time Frame


Geographic Scope

The Austin Regional ITS Architecture covers the geographic scope of the eleven county TxDOT Austin District. The eleven counties consist of Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Gillespie, Hays, Lee, Llano, Mason, Travis, and Williamson.  

Service Scope

The Austin Regional ITS Architecture identifies the planning, stakeholders, inventory, ITS service packages, operational concepts, functional requirements, interfaces, standards, and agreements that are related to ITS in the Austin Region. A separate ITS Deployment Plan has been developed that identifies potential projects for deployment in the Austin Region.